Monthly Archives: November 2013

Godsword by Emerson Cole

Godsword

Connor Brock is concerned when his friend, Matt Ferguson, goes missing on an Investigation of Corporate Espionage (ICE) mission. Matt’s abduction is part of the plan of a relentless and intelligent enemy. An enemy that plans on using terrorism and a dangerous artifact from Alexander the Great’s missing tomb to rule the world…

Godsword is an adventure thriller with elements of a financial thriller. It has the financial thriller element of corporate intrigue: very hostile takeovers, how business can grant political power and a chilling look at how terrorism might be used for financial gain. It has the adventure thriller ingredients of fun characters, an entertaining plot and environments the reader would not experience ordinarily. The buddy duo, Brock and Ferguson, clearly know how to balance one another. For instance, Brock reflects on how Ferguson balances out Brock’s seriousness with humor and helps him focus. The villain, Subedei, is a villain the reader likes to dislike due to his subtle and ruthless intelligence. The plot is entertaining because the reader becomes caught up in the quests of defeating Subedei’s cunning strategy and finding Alexander the Great’s tomb. Godsword gives the reader a chance to learn about the environments of corporate misdoings and Egypt. Corporate misdoings are shown to be subtle and ruthless. The reader sees that Egypt’s history contains many interesting personalities and exists over an immense time span. Godsword is a good choice for those wanting an adventure thriller, some corporate intrigue, a trip to an exotic locale and/or the search for the solution of an archeological mystery.

Want more books like Godsword?

Another mixture of adventure and corporate intrigue: a diamond billionaire who will stop at nothing, even endangering the lives of millions, to gain control of the world’s diamond market in Clive Cussler’s Shockwave

A tale of adventure with corporate intrigue mixed in: a security agent and a forensic accountant join forces to rescue the kidnapped employees of an American company in China in Ridley Pearson’s The Risk Agent

Books like Jason Thompson’s A History of Egypt : From Earliest Times to the Present also provide a chance to learn more about the personalities and long span of Egypt’s history…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

The Bughouse Affair by Marcia Muller and Bill Pronzini

The Bughouse Affair

Investigators Sabina Carpenter and John Quincannon know 1890s San Francisco is not full of law abiding citizens. Sabina must stop a pickpocket who uses hatpins against her victims. John must foil a robber targeting affluent insurance policy owners. With murder showing the cases may be connected, and a person claiming to be Sherlock Holmes getting involved, matters are very complicated…

Muller and Pronzini draw the reader into 1890s San Francisco with a various tactics. Among them are: casually mentioning city history such as the misnamed North Beach area, using people such as a California Market fishmonger and a Barbary Coast underworld boss and having scents and sounds from locations such as Market Street. The 1890s in general is evoked by the idea of the New Woman and various slang terms. As the two investigators find clues and track down leads the reader is invited to guess at the truth. Sabina and John are fun to investigate with. Sabina is practicality balanced by kindness and a tendency to think of places in terms of food. John cares about doing right even as he looks for ways to gain extra money, appreciation for his skills and a closer relationship with Sabina. The duo look to balance their professional and personal relationships while dealing with an exasperatingly intelligent person who may, or may not, be Sherlock Holmes. The Bughouse Affair is a good read for those looking for a mystery set in 1890s, male and female detective duos and/or a mystery with a bit of humor.

Want reads like The Bughouse Affair?

Charles O’Brien’s Death of a Robber Baron also involves a male and female detective duo at work in a large city in the 1890s. In this case, a recently widowed woman and her husband’s attorney must brave varied personalities of New York to find the truth behind a rich, and despised, man’s death…

Oakley Halls’ Ambrose Bierce and the Queen of Spades is another mystery taking place in 1890s San Francisco. Newspaperman Ambrose Bierce and his protege must contend with people from varied parts of San Francisco as they strive to solve a series of ghastly murders…

Books such as H. W. Brand’s The Reckless Decade: America in the 1890s provide more information on this time in U.S. history.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Lethal Legacy by Irene Hannon

Lethal Legacy (Guardians of Justice #3)

Cole Taylor is a detective whose dedication to justice enables him to serve grueling hours and capture criminals. Kelly Warren is an artist determined to prove her father’s death was not suicide. When the two meet they see the potential for a lifelong connection. Unfortunately, a criminal desperate to end Kelly’s quest might keep them from fulfilling it…

Cole and Kelly are both determined, intelligent and -due to the lives they lead-  lonely. The recognition of their similar traits causes the reader to root for Kelly to live so the duo can explore their connection. This wish is threatened by a suspenseful plot: Kelly and Cole do not know the criminal is told what they know. This knowledge causes the criminal to become desperate and the reader to wonder if Kelly will survive. The inspirational portion of the romance consists of prayers at times and Cole doing some pondering of his relationship with God. Hannon also draws the reader into the story with her knowledge of the routine and procedures of police life. For instance, Cole and his partner have to plan how they will try to learn information from a former mafia boss. Lethal Legacy is a good match for a reader looking for inspirational romance, romantic suspense and/or a police story.

Want other books like Lethal Legacy? These books are also suspenseful inspirational romances involving law enforcement.

In Dee Henderson’s Full Disclosure FBI agent Paul Falcon meets Midwest Homicide Investigator Ann Silver in his quest to capture a hired shooter. He becomes determined to find both the shooter and the secrets of Ann’s past…

In DiAnn Mills’ The Chase writer Kariss Walker joins forces with FBI Special Agent Tigo Harris to find the truth behind an old mystery. In this story ripped from headlines, the result will be revelation of the truth or death…

In Lynette Eason’s When the Smoke Clears firefighter Alexia Allen is shocked and suspicious when an equipment failure nearly costs her her life. With the aid of police detective Hunter she finds the truth might be linked to a secret from her past…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Trading in Danger by Elizabeth Moon

Trading in Danger (Vatta's War, #1)

Kylara Vatta is a trader’s daughter turned military cadet- until a misjudged act gets her kicked out. Determined to prove she isn’t a disgrace, and to profit, she strikes out on her own. When she gets stuck in the middle of an interplanetary war things go from difficult to seemingly impossible. She’s going to have to face down mercenaries, mutiny and other dangers just to survive let alone profit…

Kylara’s character is balanced in a way that gets the reader’s interest. She can think quickly, is dedicated to protecting those she is responsible for and holds her emotions well in a crisis. She also doesn’t make all the right decisions, questions her motives for her actions and has a temper. The plot keeps the reader’s attention by being one challenge right after another. The challenges are not easy: Kylara has to think quickly and balance difficult factors in making decisions. For instance, she has to consider the pros and cons of illegally undocking from a space station. Staying is legal and saves ship resources, but a station is a large target during a war. Moon creates a world blending trade and military aspects. Kylara has to communicate with politicians and quickly navigate contracts in pursuit of trade on a couple of worlds. Her military training helps her to be calm in various crises, implement various plans (such as making innovative use of a broken beacon) and interact with mercenaries with a military mindset. Trading in Danger is a good match for a reader looking for a determined and engaging heroine, military adventure filled with challenges and/or a tale where military training meets other professions such as trade.

Want read-a-likes for Trading in Danger?

David Drake’s When the Tide Rises features a military duo who temporarily trades the battlefield of space for helping a planet win a revolution. With treacherous politicians, mutiny and other challenges it’s no easy mission…

Mike Shepherd’s Kris Longknife: Mutineer also features a heroine from a powerful family determined to find her own place in the galaxy. Kris Longknife’s determination to succeed in the military, rather than politics like other members of her family, gets her into a lot of trouble…

David Weber’s On Basilisk Station also features a heroine who has suffered a reversal of fortune. Honor Harrington has to deal with a resentful crew and an imperial juggernaut if she wants to stay alive let alone make her mark on the galaxy…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized